Your shopping cart is empty.
Reviews & Articles
Tuesday, 3 May 2005
The earliest forerunner of the euphonium as the tenor voice of the lip and reed family is generally thought to have been the serpent, deriving its name from its snake-like appearance. It was constructed of wood, brass, or silver and played with a deep-cup mouthpiece made of horn or ivory. The serpent is cited as a forerunner of the euphonium because they have several aspects in common. They both produce a sound the same way using a deep-cupped mouthpiece and both instruments are conical in bore and similar in length. Thus their tone colour and tessitura are similar.
Tuesday, 3 May 2005
I visited the USA for the first time as a soloist and toured for almost three weeks, giving workshops, recitals and appearing as a guest artist with a number of ensembles. During the tour I had the pleasure of working with many great musicians and experienced the hospitality of six different states. However, there was one part of the tour which I particularly enjoyed, and that was the time I spent in Orlando, home to the British style 'Brass Band of Central Florida'.
Saturday, 22 January 2005
So, What is this euphonium thing?
Saturday, 22 January 2005
Iwan Fox once described David Childs as "Without doubt the finest young euphonium player in the world." Here is an article that Iwan wrote for the world's leading online brass band magazine,
Saturday, 22 January 2005
for their: 'Downbeat Profile of David Childs'
Saturday, 22 January 2005
David Childs interviews Christian Lindberg for the MUSO Magazine
Thursday, 22 July 2004
With the Buy As You View Cory Band Directed by Robert Childs at the RNCM Festival of Brass 2004
Saturday, 22 May 2004
A review from David's 2004 appearance at the Harrogate International Festival
Sunday, 1 February 2004
A solo CD of beautiful melodies featuring tracks with Organ & Harp, aswell brass band accompaniments by the Hendon Band directed by Stephen Cobb.
Thursday, 22 January 2004
Over the years I have often had the pleasure of performing duets with my father. We have appeared as soloists together.............
Saturday, 1 November 2003
Review by Stan Ewing
Wednesday, 22 January 2003
David reports on Autralia's premier Brass Festival. An article from the Brass Herald.
Friday, 3 May 2002
1 How are you enjoying playing for BAYV Cory? I played my first rehearsal with Cory back in April and since..........
Wednesday, 1 May 2002
Solo CD featuring David together with the RNCM Wind & Symphony Orchestras conducted by James Gourlay